I've been stretching every day for 6 months

Discussion in 'UK Cheerleading Training' started by estoned647, Oct 14, 2018.

1. estoned647

estoned647 New Member

As the title says, I've been doing static hip stretches twice a day for about 6 months, and have had only slight increases in my flexibility. This was at request of a physiotherapist for some knee/hip problems. My hip flexibility is atrocious in about every direction. I am trying to figure out what I am doing wrong and looking for a little motivation to continue.

My body:

* 25M
    * Slight imbalance/rotation in my hips (this is what my physio is working on)
    * Am working at a desk job, but get up frequently to walk/stretch
    * I exercise, cycle a few times a week, dance, hike, do yoga, and am overall very fit and active
    * I cannot do the "half side split" mentioned in the FAQ
    * Forward fold angle is about 100 degrees (locked knees), but can touch the ground without too much trouble if my knees are slightly bent and I allow my back to round.

My routine (twice daily, for each leg):

* Lying on back piriformis stretch, 2x hold for 30s
    * Lying on back hamstring stretch with a belt, 2x hold for 30s
    * Lying on side quadriceps stretch, 2x hold for 30s

I find that often when stretching I either feel nothing, or I hit a spot where I get slowly mounting pain in the stretched muscle. With some stretches I find it's a lot easier to get a "good stretch" for example with forward fold. Sometimes I feel almost nothing although I am exerting a large amount of force on the stretched limb, for example pulling into a hamstring stretch.

Any advice is much appreciated.

2. elktamer

elktamer New Member

I'm very inflexible too. For me the biggest improvement( which has still been little compared to most people here on /r/gumby) has come from:

1) finding "other" muscles that are tight but movable. i.e. my hamstrings won't stretch until I release something in my hips or psoas first.